Keywords Reflection

Whenever I write, I follow certain steps in order to ensure that my work is the best it can be. Surprisingly, I was using many of the terms we discussed in class without even knowing. For example, I always start my writing process by reading my prompt and determining what the rhetorical situation is. This helps me plan what I will say in an essay because it gives me an initial idea of what details I will include. My next step is usually to think about as much information about the topic as I can and formulate a main idea to guide my writing. When writing the main idea, or thesis, I make sure that it is worded very specifically to address all parts of the prompt. Additionally, my essays tend to have similar structures, with a introduction, body, and conclusion. Within the body, I try to include a lot of pertinent evidence to support my claim. However, evidence alone isn’t enough. Right after presenting a new piece of evidence, I analyze it and explain how it relates back to my thesis. To conclude my process, I look over my completed work and revise it to rid it of any errors.

Although I use most of the keywords when writing, there are a few others that I haven’t. It didn’t occur to me to think about the audience that reads my writing. That may just be due to the fact that the only one that sees my essay is usually just my teacher or professor. Also, I don’t tend to reflect on my writing once I finish. Instead, I usually read it over to make sure it is acceptable and submit it. If I keep these keywords in mind next time I write, they will definitely help me write at a higher quality than in the past.

Leave a Reply

